The Muses Gather in A World of Romance – the collective works of #ASMSG Writers #Romance

Like many authors out there, erotica is not the only thing I write. I write many genres, from children’s literature (under a different name of course,) to fantasy, to mystery, to romantic comedy. When I begin a new story, it usually starts with the nucleus of an idea; and after a few days, if the idea hasn’t vaporized, then I sit down and begin. Every writer goes about it differently. Me, I like to just think about what I want to say, and usually figure out the ending before I put pen to paper (or more accurately fingers to keys.) Others just start writing, and see where the journey takes them. Its all good. Whatever gets the job done.

Shameless plug for me: My story is Franny's Christmas Fairy Twinkle.

Shameless plug for me: My story is Franny’s Christmas Fairy Twinkle.

What baffles me, and maybe its a mystery to other writers as well, but where do these ideas hail from? I can wake up in the morning with an empty head (as I often do,) and within a short period of time I have created a feisty new heroine, or a fierce villain,  or even an entire world of crazy, unexpected things.The ancient Greeks personified this phenomenon in the idea of the Muses, and their inspirational assistance has been called on by Milton, Shakespeare, Chaucer, and perhaps even E L James?!?!?! Whatever, not going there.

Muses like erotica - that's why they strut about in the buff!

Muses like erotica – that’s why they strut about in the buff!

I was talking today to a lady, who shall remain anonymous, and she told me her husband always wanted to write, but could never come up with any ideas. On the other hand, I’ve met a bucket-load of people who have ideas, but who haven’t the time, patience or desire to bring these ideas to life.  So there must be some kind of magic in the people that experience both, and bring it all together in the form of a novel, don’t you think?  I know I’m hard working, motivated, not to mention sexy, and a total slave to the word. I also know some very talented people who can write a beautiful paragraph or two when the mood takes them.

But none of this, in itself, is enough to bring on the magic. There is something god-like in the creation of a sparkly new story. I’m not just thinking of the making-things-up-as you-go part; but the whole fragile mystery of the creativity behind it.  There is an indescribable beauty in the seed of inspiration, that forever leaves me in awe. When I got home from work tonight, I read a few stories in the new asmsg (authors social media support group) anthology, A World of Romance. I confess I haven’t yet read all of its offerings, but the sample I did read left me dazzled by the diversity of the human mind. So many gifted writers, so many ways of bringing  a story to life, it was truly inspirational.

Shameless plug for me number two: My story is Franny's Christmas Fairy Twinkle.

Shameless plug for me number two: My story is Franny’s Christmas Fairy Twinkle.

If you want to see what I’m talking about, click on the book and it will take you where you need to go. The book is entirely free, and if you’d like to see more of a particular author (say, me, for example) then there are links in the back to take you to that authors web page or blog. Think about it. Within its pages are the fruits of those muses; some will make you laugh, some will make you sigh, but all will make you think about something. And that is what we’re all about, in the end. Isn’t it?

Thanks for reading, friend.

Sparkly

AKA P J Perryman

Leave a Reply

